I Would Have Voted Him King!

Terry Pratchett, my personal literary adolescence hero and world-renown fantasy author is now officially a Knight of the British Empire!

Pratchett has written scores of wonderful books, most famously, the discworld novel seris. Discworld novels are still the my daily read before bedtime. Discworld novels are better than a nursery rhyme. It’s not just funny and intelligent prose, it also has a unique kind of depth, crafted in that special way only possible in the skillful writing pen (read keyboard) of Terry Pratchett.

Pratchett wrote that from now on, while nobody will have to call him “Sir”, they would have to at least avoid throwing things. 🙂

Frankly, I think “Knight” is beneath him.

Oh, and I was delighted to realize that Pratchett himself is a humanist, (I’ve been wondering of his worldview and politics forever) and that he wrote a science-discworld novel about Darwin! I must lay my filthy claws on that one, someday!

2 Responses to “I Would Have Voted Him King!”

  1. calculated emotions Says:

    Hooray! You’re A Terry Prachett fan!!!
    I love his books and it doesn’t surprise me at all he’s a humanist. With such common sense and realistic tending to optimistic world view he can be nothing else 🙂 Me and my wife have about 20 of his books.
    To me the book “Night Watch” is very special. I have a soft spot for simple, goodhearted Policemen. The love he shows to common people and their everyday life in this book brought tears to my eyes. His insights there about revolutions and the common people are incredibly sharp and clear. Most recommended.
    BTW, His explenation of the banking system in “Making Money” is most revealing considering the current crisis (he wrote it well before it started).

    I still think, however, that his true masterpiece is Good Omens with Neil Gaiman.

Leave a Reply

