Israel, the land of Multi-Tribalism

Not recently, it has come to my peeved attention that Israeli news headlines are made and broken with the employment of a single  gimmick: Xenophobia sells.

A deranged woman starves her infant boy to the point of severe malnutrition. She’s mentally ill, and caused her young child terrible anguish, but tragedy and mischief are not enough to keep the Israeli public buying newspapers, apparently. No. The Israeli public wouldn’t be as good a consumer as its masters do dearly wish it to be without some good, well-crafted random-primed hatred.***

It’s the fact that the mother is an ultra-orthodox Jew that sells the newspapers, right?

I mean, gods blind me, I almost forgot there’s some poor infant slowly and painfully recovering in his hospital bed somewhere with all this tribal hate-mongering around.

Personally, I wouldn’t give a fart in a high wind whether this mother was orthodox, secular, Arab or Zoroastrian. Munchausen Syndrome is a terrible condition (mostly for the “patients” associated with those plagued by it). That alone is a morbidly intriguing story. You know, fuck that! I don’t need to double my money, it’s enough for me to sympathize with a sobbing 3-year-old. I don’t need someone to blame. I don’t give a shit if there’s someone to blame. I would just find it dandy and suitable enough that somebody kept that woman away from that kid.

But this is Israel.

The only mediterranean democracy. Where you can enjoy freedom of speech and association, if you can afford it.

The state of Israel, where speech is only free if money can be made (and mouths are immediately gagged should it be expensive in any way how to someone with a smidgen of political power)

So the reality is that much ink is spilled over the tangent story of the ultra-orthodox community’s response regarding the whole fiasco. The comment sections are teeming with idiotic and xenophobic bullshit, because nothing makes the Israeli public more keen to spend time and money than a good load of righteous, sanctimonious bigotry.

Hatred is the glue that binds the many tribes living in modern Canaan together, the main catalysis for keeping the vast majority of malign idiots at bay: make us hate the myriad sub-sectors of the Israeli polytribe, and we’ll forget all about the fact that an entire elite class has sprung which makes a living by screwing everybody else. It’s the politicians that are truly non-racist: they screw everyone over, regardless of race, sub-tribe and/or hue.

The ultra-orthodox community is a community I don’t happen to hold in the highest regard, and if understatements were explosives, my laptop would blow up right about now. But the fact is: they are still people, and they deserve much more than a modicum of respect just because they are people. I honor these people for their membership in my species, and I don’t feel the slightest animus for ultra-orthodox Jews merely due to their allegiance.

This story has nothing, repeat NOTHING to do with anyone being ultra-orthodox. That the Israeli media is trying to suck circulation out of the typical Israeli’s joy for hatred is despicable.

***

Israelis reading this post already know what I’m talking about.

I don’t have any external links in English about this story, so English readers would have to believe that I’m not making this story up. Besides, the point I wish to make clearly has very little to do with the veracity of this news item. The whole thing could end up being a huge conspiracy and the raison d’etre of this post will prevail.

3 Responses to “Israel, the land of Multi-Tribalism”

  1. bint alshamsa Says:

    I’m sorry that I don’t know how to do trackbacks, but I wrote about similarities between what you described and what I’ve seen in the USA media. It’s nothing major, but I thought that I should let you know that I quoted you. I hope that’s okay with you. If it isn’t, I’d be more than happy to remove them.

    By the way, I really appreciate this post. The internet needs more views from bloggers outside of the USA. Thank you!

    • freidenker24 Says:

      Hi, Bint. In my case, all you have to do is link up to this post using

      “https://obsessedwr.wordpress.com/2009/08/09/peace-is-mutually-assured-destruction/trackback/” as the linked url (and not just the ordinary url you use to get to this website. That pings back to wordpress and I get to “approve a comment” which is basically a link to your post (linking to my post 🙂 )

      As you can see, at the bottom of the comment box, there’s a link that goes “leave a trackback” – which I couldn’t find in your blog, so I don’t know how I could reciprocate if I wanted to write a comment post.

      Anyway, I’m off to read your post, and obviously, there’s absolutely *nothing* wrong with quoting anything you have on this blog. I’m an ardent believer of free speech, even when that free speech happens to be hate speech directed at me. Stupidity and evil (hardly the case here, of course) won’t go away just because people hush them up, and in any case, should be paraded for all to scorn and ridicule.

  2. bint alshamsa Says:

    Oops! I forgot to give you a link to the post! Here it is:

    http://bintalshamsa.blogspot.com/2009/08/xenophobia-in-israeli-and-usa-media.html

Leave a Reply

