My Secret Room

Navigating through sullen highways

I see that everything I use

is stolen and

even I am not my own

My route is uncannily familiar

I neglect the laws of traffic

in my flight, I render not unto Caesar

in my flight, that blessed anonymous chamber

exceeds in import all my empathies

I arrive in terror, stairs spiraling, roofs become floors, floors become doors,

and doors – darkness

It is my room, a sanctuary I have frequented often in escape

There are doors on every side, traps leading to other souls

But this room is a secret I keep

In reciprocation

And there are things upon this here table

that I could take with me.

Leave a Reply

